On Sunday, the Supreme Electoral Commission (SEC) announced that parliamentary elections for the House of Representatives (Magles el Sha3b) would be commencing in October and November.

The parliamentary elections are the third and final step in the ‘democracy roadmap’ established by President AbdelFattah El-Sisi in the wake of the ouster of ex-President Mohamed Morsi. Egypt has been without a Parliament since June 2012.

SEC Head Judge Mahmoud Kamel Abbas announced in a press conference broadcast on state television that elections were set to take place over two phases; with the first phase of elections set to take place on October 18-19, and the second set scheduled for November 22-23, with Egyptians living abroad voting one day prior to official election dates.

The governorates who will be voting in the first phase include Giza, Fayoum, Beni Suef, Minya, Asyut, New Valley, Sohag, Qena, Luxor, Aswan, Red Sea, Alexandria, Beheira and Matruh. While Cairo, Qalyubia, Dakahlia, Monufia, Gharbia, Kafr el-Sheikh, Sharqia, Damietta, Port Said, Ismailia, Suez, North Sinai and South Sinai governorates will be voting in the second phase.

Runoffs for the first phase will start on the 27th of October (26th for Egyptians living abroad), and run-offs for the second phase will start on the 1st of December (30th November for Egyptians living abroad)

The House of Representatives is made up of 596 seats, with 448 elected as individuals and 120 through winner-takes-all lists, with quotas for women, Christians and youth and with allowances for the President to appoint representatives (although these appointments cannot exceed 5% of the House of Representatives).

The window for nomination is open from 1-12 of September.

Results should be announced during the first week of December, and the aim is to have a finalised, working Parliament before 2016.